13 Reasons

In a recent article posted on IndieWire, Jude Dry, while giving praise for the newly released 13 Reasons Why on Netflix, also ponders upon the depiction of suicide in the series and if copycats are bound to come forward.

I was definitely a binge watcher of the show. Took me about a week and a half to get through. The series truly hit home–had a greater effect on me than I had imagined it would. Granted, I never read the book by Jay Asher, so I had no idea what to expect.

The series can definitely serve as a trigger, but I feel that in the grand scheme of things, it is a story that needed to be shared.

This is a series that is tackling a subject that is skimmed at times. Opening the conversation up and depicting truths that can occur, I believe, is refreshing; I rather have it open for discussion than to be hidden. And I do not necessarily agree with the comments that claim it shows suicide as an easy choice or escape. I feel that Hannah’s (Katherine Langford) character truly showed struggle–she was fighting to not give up hope the entire time. There were thirteen instances. But it is her ending decision that allows people who may know somebody that may be depressive or being bullied to really think and hopefully “check up on” someone who could be going through the same. And not only that, but it depicts that the person who wants to do harm to themselves, they have an abundance of people who do care.

The series has its different sides, but hopefully only the true reason for such a depiction actually prevents an occurrence like such from happening.

Leave a Reply

